top of page

Our Board of Management

Committee Chairs

Dr Kerryn Saunders – CMV committee Chair

Andrew White – Treasurer – Finance committee chair

Marie Fram - Grants committee Chair

Jane Prior – Hearing Awareness week Chair

Prof. Collette McKay – Research Committee Chair

DeniseGoldman18_01 (1).jpg

Dr Denise Goldman


Denise has been committed to improving hearing health via transformative interventions for more than a decade. In her current role as Vice President of Cochlear Ltd, Head of Biosciences and Hearing Drug Solutions, Denise directs a global team of experts that explore fundamental research questions around the device-biology interface, as well as spearheading novel projects that bridge the worlds of technology and pharma and aim to deliver significant improvement to patient outcomes.​ She has previously worked with not-for-profits, golden-triangle academic institutions, pharma and biotech in the UK, in the hearing field and beyond. Denise holds a PhD in molecular and stem cell biology from Monash University.​


Professor Colette McKay

Vice President

Professor Colette McKay joined the Deafness Foundation board in 2017 and became chair of the Research Committee in 2019. Currently appointed as a Principal Scientist at the Bionics Institute, where she leads the translational hearing research, Professor Colette McKay completed her undergraduate degree and PhD at the University of Melbourne in Physics and Mathematics and following this undertook clinical training in Audiology at the same institution. Colette currently holds honorary professorial fellowships at the University of Manchester and the University of Melbourne Departments of Otolaryngology and Medical Bionics.


 Mr Andrew White


Andrew White joined the board of the Deafness Foundation in 2019. He commenced the position as Treasurer and Chair of the Finance committee. Andrew has 19+ years’ experience in providing audit, due diligence and advisory services to private, unlisted public companies and incorporates associations spanning various industries, core to his own personal success is his strong work ethic.


Ms Zoe Williams

Vice President

Zoe joined the Board of Management of Deafness Foundation in 2015.  An audiologist, she has a strong connection due to her personal deafness.


Professor Greg Leigh, AO


Professor Greg Leigh, joined the Deafness Foundation Board in 2018 as the Chair of the ANHSC . He is Director of RIDBC Renwick Centre for Research and Professional Education and Professor of Education and Disability Studies at Macquarie University. He is active in research and has published widely on the education of deaf children and related areas. He is a member of the Editorial Boards of The Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education and Phonetics and Speech Sciences and is Co-Chair of the International Committee of the International Congress on Education of the Deaf.

Marie Fram (002).JPG

Ms Marie Fram


Marie joined the Board of Deafness Foundation in 2002 and chaired the Education Committee until 2016. She currently is responsible for reporting on education and chairs the Grants Committee. Marie has worked in schools for the deaf, as a specialist Teacher of the Deaf in mainstream schools, as a principal and as a lecturer in university courses training Teachers of the Deaf. She is currently president of the Australian Association of Teachers of the Deaf (AATD) Victoria and Chairperson of the National Association of Australian Teachers of the Deaf (NAATD).


Dr Lisa-Jane Moody


Lisa-Jane is an audiologist and currently working with Ballarat Health Services.  She has been a Director of Deafness Foundation since 2002.


Mr Paul O'Halloran


Paul is a consultant specialising in prevention of noise induced hearing loss. He has post-graduate qualifications in audiology, ergonomics, education and philosophy.
He is a Board Member of Burrinja Cultural Centre and the Deafness Foundation. Paul has had a life-long interest in wellbeing and the relationship between communication, culture, art and sustainable communities


Dr Kerryn Saunders


Dr Kerryn Saunders joined the Deafness Foundation Board in 2018. Dr Kerryn Saunders is the Head of Unit at Hearing Loss Investigation Clinics. Paediatric Hearing Loss Investigation Clinic services are involved in many past and current areas of research, including collaboration within Australia and overseas. This includes the discovery of new genes for hearing impairment.

Jane Prior AI.jpg

Ms Jane Prior


Accomplished senior executive with significant experience leading transformation in corporate services, Jane has held senior leadership roles in shared services (HR, finance and specialist corporate services) and as head of business units with P&L responsibility.

Jane joined Deafness Foundation in 2019 and is the chair of Hearing Awareness Week Committee.

bottom of page